Search found 293 matches

by Belmonte
Wed Feb 15, 2006 4:34 pm
Forum: Mutants & Masterminds Rules (Second Edition)
Topic: Questions about Telekinesis
Replies: 17
Views: 1489

Telekinesis is sustained. Thus, lift something, sustain it, and lift another is fine. Sustaining is a free action. Pretty simple. Anything else you toss on is a house rule.
by Belmonte
Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:50 pm
Forum: Mutants & Masterminds Rules (Second Edition)
Topic: Questions about Telekinesis
Replies: 17
Views: 1489

Paragon wrote:However, I don't think they're right.
He's right, technically. I forgot that in M&M2E for some odd reason resisting a grapple is always a standard action. Otherwise, they'd be right.
by Belmonte
Tue Feb 14, 2006 1:59 pm
Forum: Mutants & Masterminds Rules (Second Edition)
Topic: Mental Grapple - Minor Tweak
Replies: 8
Views: 683

I don't like it at all. Suddenly bricks, who are supposed to (in general) be bad at mental stuff, are suddenly hot as bricks at escaping from mental grapples? Most bricks I've seen tend to have high intimidate, often with the Startle feat.

Just my 2c.
by Belmonte
Tue Feb 14, 2006 1:52 pm
Forum: Mutants & Masterminds Rules (Second Edition)
Topic: Questions about Telekinesis
Replies: 17
Views: 1489

Re: Questions about Telekinesis

A. Grapple and pin a second character As long as you the DM determine he hasn't used up his limit of free actions, this works fine. Telekinesis is sustained, you can lift multiple things at once, just one at a time/per round. If you wanted to do them all in one round, the guy who mentioned Split At...
by Belmonte
Tue Feb 14, 2006 2:18 am
Forum: Mutants & Masterminds Rules (Second Edition)
Topic: Having a blast with blast :rimshot:
Replies: 11
Views: 1058

Or little balls contained in force created by force field projectors. Lots of ways to scifi-it up.
by Belmonte
Sun Feb 12, 2006 1:08 pm
Forum: Mutants & Masterminds Rules (Second Edition)
Topic: How to do transforming battlesuit?
Replies: 37
Views: 3078

Give the bike itself one rank of morph with the multimorph power feat. Or, Kenson's said you can take APs of Devices for 'other battlesuits', I guess you could do it with this, though there's no flaw for going back to get it. On the other hand, this isn't major, more or less just atmosphere--'my bik...
by Belmonte
Thu Dec 29, 2005 7:51 pm
Forum: Mutants & Masterminds Rules (Second Edition)
Topic: Perform/Profession
Replies: 2
Views: 357

Perform. It's an art-form that doesn't create objects (which is Craft). Profession is for things that are service skills.
by Belmonte
Thu Dec 29, 2005 2:09 pm
Forum: Mutants & Masterminds Rules (Second Edition)
Topic: Combined Fire?
Replies: 4
Views: 527

As a rule of thumb, I'd limit it to their Attack bonus. Can't coordinate beyond that, or such.
by Belmonte
Wed Dec 28, 2005 9:41 pm
Forum: Mutants & Masterminds Rules (Second Edition)
Topic: Intimidate
Replies: 9
Views: 993

I think it might provide a +2 or +4 circumstance bonus in some situations, but replace it? No way. :) Basically same as some others. That was the silliest aspect of 1E, IMO.
by Belmonte
Tue Dec 27, 2005 4:11 pm
Forum: Mutants & Masterminds Rules (Second Edition)
Topic: EMP
Replies: 5
Views: 568

Actually, an EMP tends to damage electronics and so on pretty well. Military systems tend to be more resistant, but a 'powered' EMP pulse certainly could be statted out as a semi-permanent damager. I'd base it on a flawed disintegration, myself.
by Belmonte
Sun Dec 25, 2005 1:57 pm
Forum: Mutants & Masterminds Rules (Second Edition)
Topic: Skills as Powers?
Replies: 10
Views: 1198

I don't see what the major problem is with allowing them to buy skills with Device. It fits a lot of concept, and I don't see anything particularly abusive about it. Device itself says any trait--that includes skills.
by Belmonte
Tue Dec 13, 2005 1:23 am
Forum: Mutants & Masterminds Rules (Second Edition)
Topic: 5 ft. Burst Area ... but higher Rank Power?
Replies: 45
Views: 3585

The reason is, as other people have said, having a fine-tuned area is very very useful. Far more useful than a large area in some ways. Simply allowing you to buy it for 1PP basically makes hit rolls useless--why buy Perception for +1/Rank extra, when you can buy area +1? The reflex save doesn't neg...
by Belmonte
Mon Dec 12, 2005 7:26 pm
Forum: Mutants & Masterminds Rules (Second Edition)
Topic: Sonic Screwdriver
Replies: 17
Views: 1750

The Device Power allows any trait. All of this is at the DM's discretion, but assuming it makes sense, there's no rule against it.
by Belmonte
Sat Dec 10, 2005 2:36 am
Forum: Mutants & Masterminds Rules (Second Edition)
Topic: Instant Create Objects?
Replies: 7
Views: 675

I'd have someone build this as:

Create Object [Extra: Duration; Flaw: Limited--Ice Only; Stunts: Innate] for a total cost of 2/Rank+1.
by Belmonte
Sun Nov 27, 2005 9:18 am
Forum: General M&M
Topic: d20 Spectaculars
Replies: 77
Views: 11857

Why would it be about 'topping' it? Mike Mearls did pretty well in Iron Heroes, though it needed better organization. Personally, I'm hoping it's good. It'd be a good resource for additional stuff to add to my M&M game if so.