Okay reading up on the snare rules again.
Technically it cannot completely bind the target since they can still take actions, but they can't interact with anything outside. Also there are no layers, there is only caught and not-caught.
Suppose I make it a snare with the Entangled flaw, meaning it cannot completely bind them. However I also add a Custom Extra(Encapsulate) which says that they cannot physically interact with anything but the snare. Mental abilities will still work outside of it, but any other powers must be targeted at the snare. Outsiders and area attacks can only target the snare itself, except the Selective Extra lets him and his allies target the captured person.
Actually, now that I'm reading these rules I really like the way M&M does snares. It rolls toughness saves as an inanimate object and can be broken automatically if their damage is high enough. I will assume that the snare is anchored and make him pay for limited telekinesis if he wants to move it around.
"The most important thing is that nobody was hurt. Except your opponents."
-Mia, Golden Sun 2