Device and Alternat Power

Ask M&M 2e rules questions that your fellow gamers can't answer. Only Mutants & Masterminds Line Developer (and creator) Steve Kenson can post replies. He visits the boards in between projects and convention appearances so please be patient!
User avatar
XXIII
Bystander
Bystander
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 9:56 am
Location: Trash bin behind the Sonic Building
Contact:

Device and Alternat Power

Postby XXIII » Tue Dec 27, 2005 8:44 am

When building a Device - could you add an Alternate Power as a Power Feat to the Device Power?

By doing so - would you have another 'framework' of Device points to work with as with the origional Device power - or would it be something different all together?

For Ex. You have Device 10ranks, you have 50 points to build a device with. If you buy Alternate Power Feat with the Device Power would you have an additional 50-ish points to play with OR would you buy it as part of the initial 50 points you got from selecting the device power orgionaly?

Sorry for being so confusing :?

And apologies it it's answered somewhere else...

User avatar
Steve Kenson
Mastermind
Posts: 4118
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:20 am
Location: Freedom City, USA
Contact:

Postby Steve Kenson » Tue Dec 27, 2005 8:48 am

You can have Alternate Power arrays "within" a Device's powers, but Device itself cannot have or be an Alternate Power.

So, if you have a rank 10 Device, giving you 50 points to spend, you can, for example create a 45 point power with 5 Alternate Power feats. You cannot, however, create a 50-point power and add 5 Alternate Power feats to the Device power to gain 5 Alternate 50-point Devices.
Steve Kenson - steve@greenronin.com
Green Ronin Publishing


Return to “Official Rules Questions (Second Edition)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests