Ask M&M 2e rules questions that your fellow gamers can't answer. Only Mutants & Masterminds Line Developer (and creator) Steve Kenson can post replies. He visits the boards in between projects and convention appearances so please be patient!
Moderators: The Mod Squad, The Justice League, M&M Line Developer
I was creating a character and I relised that I need rules clarification befor I went on.
I was going to use This power
Lvl 4 Absorption (Boost to Electrical Control): Feat Slow Fade = 1 Minute + 1 pt, Extras Energy Storage (40pts)+ 1, Power Magnet + 1, Flaw Limited: Electricity Only - 2
When it accured to me that I wished to boost all of the Characters Electrical abilities. Under Absorption it states that you must pick the power to be boosted. it also states that you my apply boost modifiers to absorption for a broader boosting effect. So my questions are this...
By applying more pts per level can the absorption boost all powers? So at 4 pts per level is base absorption (boost) and for every 1pt you apply to the base (5pts, 6pts ans so on) you would progress on the boost table. Or must you buy each power its own absorption (eek kinda expensive)
How exectly does Energy Storage Work: As I understand it the above power would take 11 rounds (10 round with 1 extra to cover the fade) but at full power I could unlease a + 40 Rank attack. is that right? If so is it possible to take a flaw on the stroage that you can only get so much of it applied to the attack at a time. So you could only have + 4 to your ranks 10 times instead. (Would that be better left to a morelevel head player and not mess witht he flaw)
Just some random thouhts that I was unclear on
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 10:38 pm
Yes, if the GM agrees, you can make the Boost effect from Absorption into a broader effect (boosting all powers, for example) by increasing cost.
Energy Storage does not allow you to apply more than your Absorption rank in energy points to any given effect; it simply gives you a storehouse of energy you can use over time. In essence, the "flaw" you mention (only applying up to your Absorption rank at a time) is built-in.
- Posts: 4864
- Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:20 am
- Location: Freedom City, USA
Return to Official Rules Questions (Second Edition)
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests