[Ultimate Power] Healing

Ask M&M 2e rules questions that your fellow gamers can't answer. Only Mutants & Masterminds Line Developer (and creator) Steve Kenson can post replies. He visits the boards in between projects and convention appearances so please be patient!
User avatar
Elric
Overlord
Overlord
Posts: 4774
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 11:32 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA

[Ultimate Power] Healing

Postby Elric » Sat Jan 12, 2008 12:59 am

Hi Steve,
In your response to Paragon concerning Healing in Ultimate Power, here, you said

Steve Kenson wrote:
Paragon wrote:2. As of the UP, Healing now takes a full round action on the part of the recipient to get the benefit out of it. What happens when you change the Action type of the power? In particular, it normally allows a self-healer to combine the full round action of the healing with the full round of actually using it, but what if the person with the power has a self-only heal of reduced duration such as that you get from Absorption?


I'd reduce the action required from the recipient by the same amount as the reduction for the power user.


It seems like you are saying that
1) The action required for the recipient of Healing should be the same as the action required to use Healing by the power user.

However, this directly contradicts Ultimate Power’s Healing power, under the Action extra:
This extra reduces the action required for you to use Healing, but does not affect the recovery action required of the subject. You cannot use Healing more than once per round regard- less. To heal multiple subjects at once, apply the Area modifier.


Is what you meant to say:
2) When you go to use Healing on yourself, although Ultimate Power says
You can use Healing on yourself. Your own recover action is part of the full-round action required to use Healing

this should be read as “If you use Healing on yourself, your don’t have to make a separate recovery action—your own recovery action is considered to be part of the action required to use the Healing power.”

Also, concerning the Range extra on Healing in Ultimate Power:
3) Presumably a Range: Touch Healing power requires no attack roll to affect a willing target. Correct?

4) If you are adjacent to a (willing) target and have the Range- Ranged Extra on Healing, can you get an auto-hit with your Healing power (without requiring the target to hold completely still), as would presumably be the case if you had Range: Touch Healing? Or would you still need to roll an attack roll in this case ?

5) In question 4, if the answer is "yes, you can get an auto-hit", does this involve touching the target? More generally, can a Range- Ranged power be used by touching the target as if it were a range: Touch power?
3e Builds, 2e Builds, Index of 2e Official Rules Answers & General Resources (includes character creation and fight examples)

User avatar
Steve Kenson
Mastermind
Posts: 4118
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2003 5:20 am
Location: Freedom City, USA
Contact:

Re: [Ultimate Power] Healing

Postby Steve Kenson » Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:43 am

Elric wrote:Is what you meant to say:
2) When you go to use Healing on yourself, although Ultimate Power says
You can use Healing on yourself. Your own recover action is part of the full-round action required to use Healing

this should be read as “If you use Healing on yourself, your don’t have to make a separate recovery action—your own recovery action is considered to be part of the action required to use the Healing power.”

I'd say that's accurate, and fits with the power's description. So, sure, that's exactly what I meant to say. 8)

Also, concerning the Range extra on Healing in Ultimate Power:
3) Presumably a Range: Touch Healing power requires no attack roll to affect a willing target. Correct?

Correct.

4) If you are adjacent to a (willing) target and have the Range- Ranged Extra on Healing, can you get an auto-hit with your Healing power (without requiring the target to hold completely still), as would presumably be the case if you had Range: Touch Healing? Or would you still need to roll an attack roll in this case ?

I'd say you can affect the target without an attack roll.

However, in both cases, the GM may require the subject to voluntarily lower his Defense to +0 for the round to allow the automatic touch, if Healing is used in the midst of combat. It's somewhat unfair to allow a character to continue dodging, weaving, evading, etc., in a fight while also gaining the benefits of allies being able to automatically "hit" with beneficial powers that normally require an attack roll.

5) In question 4, if the answer is "yes, you can get an auto-hit", does this involve touching the target? More generally, can a Range- Ranged power be used by touching the target as if it were a range: Touch power?

You wouldn't necessarily have to touch the target, although you could. Similarly, other Ranged powers can potentially be used at touch (or very close) range, if their descriptors permit. For example, a fire-blaster could probably damage someone with a burning touch.
Steve Kenson - steve@greenronin.com
Green Ronin Publishing


Return to “Official Rules Questions (Second Edition)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests