Do Critical Hits increase DC over PL?

Discuss the second edition rules of the World's Greatest Superhero Roleplaying Game. Check here before posting in the Official Rules Forum, someone might just know the answer already!
User avatar
TheCaruso
Bystander
Bystander
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 5:33 pm

Do Critical Hits increase DC over PL?

Postby TheCaruso » Wed May 28, 2008 12:23 pm

This is a point of contention in my group. Do Crits increase the Toughness DC over the games Power Level?

In a few cases when something surpasses the Power Level of the game, it specifically says so. The Critical Hits description in the Core Book is silent on this issue. So 'we' have gone with the assumption that if it doesn't specifically say that if something surpasses the Power Level of the game- it doesn't.

Apologies if this has already been covered in previous posts.
Thanks in advance!

User avatar
iKitten
Partisan
Partisan
Posts: 632
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 12:06 pm
Location: Atlanta

Postby iKitten » Wed May 28, 2008 12:35 pm

Yes they do. Otherwise, crits wouldn't work unless everyone left five off their damage DCs.
"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from a completely ad-hoc plot device."

User avatar
TheCaruso
Bystander
Bystander
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 5:33 pm

Postby TheCaruso » Wed May 28, 2008 1:24 pm

Is there anything in the book that supports this?

User avatar
Delemental
Comrade
Comrade
Posts: 408
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 10:30 am
Location: Beaverton, OR

Postby Delemental » Wed May 28, 2008 2:07 pm

Actually, I think you should be using the opposite assumption - that things can exceed PL limits unless it specifically says they can't.

For example, Sneak Attack specifically says you are still limited to PL. But Power Attack doesn't say that. Power Attack would be very limited in usefulness if you had to keep it within PL. The same goes for similar feats like Accurate Attack, Defensive Attack, etc.

No, the book doesn't say specifically "Crits ignore PL limits". But, here's a few related posts from Steve on the Official Rules Forum, which hopefully your group will accept as close to RAW.

http://www.atomicthinktank.com/viewtopic.php?t=15450 - note that in describing the effect of crits with non-damaging powers, there's no mention of observing PL limits.

http://www.atomicthinktank.com/viewtopic.php?t=15979 - points out that total attack bonus includes all permanent modifiers - not temporary ones like a crit.

http://www.atomicthinktank.com/viewtopic.php?t=12557 - Again points out that only permanent modifiers affect PL, and that feats that modify traits only observe PL limits if it specifically says so.

Not trying to be anal here - but I know sometimes it helps to have a lot of evidence.
:wink:
Play by Post Characters
Breakneck, for The New Guardians

User avatar
TheCaruso
Bystander
Bystander
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 5:33 pm

Postby TheCaruso » Wed May 28, 2008 2:19 pm

Delemental wrote:Not trying to be anal here - but I know sometimes it helps to have a lot of evidence. :wink:


You guy's help is greatly appreciated!


Return to “Mutants & Masterminds Rules (Second Edition)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests