Some questions on Areas from UP.
1) A) For the Cylinder Area Shape in Ultimate Power, do you have to preallocate the dimensions of the cylinder when you take the power, or do you get to decide on the area each time you use it?
B) The Progression- decrease Area power feat specifically mentions reducing the power's rank for the purpose of determining its area, so it's generally straightforward to see how this works. How does this Power Feat interact with the Cylinder Area?
Cylinder: The effect fills a cylinder with a total radius and height of 5 feet per rank. So, for example, a rank 10 Cylinder Area could have a 20-foot radius and a height of 30 feet, a 10-foot radius and a height of 40 feet, or any other combination adding up to 50 feet (10 ranks x 5 feet).
2) If a character had the Progression- increase Area power feat for a Line Area, the character:
Line: The effect fills a path 5 feet wide and 10 feet per rank long in a straight line.
A) Would be forced to increase both width and length when using the feat?
B) Could increase either width or length with separate applications of the Progression feat on the spot?
C) He could only increase the Length because the width is set at 5 feet and doesn't vary by rank. But if the width varied with the rank of the power, then the answer would be A)
D) He could only increase the Length because the width is set at 5 feet and doesn't vary by rank. But if the width varied with the rank of the power, then the answer would be B)
E) Something else
F) I presume an analogous answer to the above applies to using the Progression feat on other area-shapes if there's more than one measure of their dimensions (e.g., Cylinder) and that these answers apply to both UP and the core book. Correct?
3) The Perception Area Shape in UP states:
Perception: The effect works on anyone able to perceive the target point with a particular sense, chosen when you apply this extra, like a Sense-Dependent effect (see the Sense-Dependent modifier). Targets get a Reflex saving throw, as usual, but if the save is successful suffer no effect (rather than half). Concealment that prevents a target from perceiving the effect also blocks it. Perception Area effects must be General, and cannot be Targeted. This modifier includes the Sense-Dependent flaw (see Flaws) so it cannot be applied again. If it is applied to an already Sense-Dependent effect, it is a +2 extra rather than +1.
A) When it says Sense-Dependent effect, does it mean an effect that has the specific Sense-Dependent flaw, or just that the effect depends on a target to have senses to affect?
B) For example, would applying this extra to Dazzle be +1 or +2?
4) The FAQ mentions that Targeted Areas (in UP) cannot critical hit, but you can use feats like Power Attack with them.
The Super-Speed Array Alternate Powers in UP (and in core) include a few that seem (roughly but not exactly) built with the Targeted Area and let you attack a number of opponents at once. For example,
Ultimate Power wrote:Rapid Attack: You can make a melee attack against any opponents in a radius of (power rank x 5 feet) around of you, provided you can physically reach them. This includes a normal strike or a special action like Disarm or Trip (see Disarm and Trip, M&M, pages 156 and 159, respectively). Make one attack roll and compare it against all targets in the area.
A) Should UP Rapid Attack (and similar Super-Speed power feats) be able to inflict critical hits, or not?
B) Does the same apply to Rapid Attack (and similar Super-Speed power feats) in the core book?